Photos taken yesterday (Saturday 9th April 2016) on a short shopping trip to St Ives with lunch at the Porthmeor Café on the beach 🙂

Harbour from above
Harbour from above
St Ives (8)
Smeaton’s Pier
Smeaton's Pier
Smeaton’s Pier

Smeaton’s pier is a rubble and masonry pier extending south from the coast at St Ives, on the east side of the harbour’s south entrance. Designed by John Smeaton in 1766 the Georgian era pier was built by Thomas Richardson, who had been Smeaton’s foreman mason on the construction of Edddystone Lighthouse.

And yes, I did come home with a couple of bunches of daffodils – the white ones smell delicious!

40 thoughts on “A blustery day in St Ives

    1. So difficult to not keep taking photos. I have to remind myself I can come back here every day if I want to. I have some ideas I want to try out, so you will see plenty more of St Ives 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ohhhoo! You have your seaside and beach. Songs of praise. I can see already there are many treats in store for all of us. I love that first shot – an overview of pleasures. Two questions: Are those houses built on sand? and Are you really embarking on renos?

    Like

    1. I suspect those houses are built on granite! And if by renos you mean renovations 😉 then yes, but only fairly minor – just removing stud walls and repositioning them to make the space work better for us. We’ll get “a man who can” in to do it. The OH is not in to DIY.

      Like

  2. Oh my goodness, what a beautiful area. Years ago when my stepdad still lived in England, Cornwall was one of my Mom’s favourite areas to visit when she was there.

    Like

  3. A blusty day on acid St Ives today if it’s anything like it is here in central Cornwall today! Super pictures Jude. Always a nice place to visit and have a good mooch around. 🙂

    Like

  4. I’m not familiar with oceans and tides, so at the risk of looking like a complete idiot … is that what low tide looks like? … all those boats sitting on the ground with the pier many feet high? The last 2 photos look absolutely incredible to me.

    Like

    1. Yep, low tide is when the water recedes and the boats are left high and dry! This is a very sandy harbour though so it looks quite nice when the tide is out 🙂

      Like

  5. Ah, the light, the light…there’s nowhere else quite like it, is there, which is why so many artists settle there. Lucky you. The beach looked a bit crowded though…😀😀😀

    Like

  6. Lucky you Jude what a great area to be able to visit again and again in all its changing moods. I love the scent of daffodils. the smell of spring. I did visit St Ives way back in 1990 when I had a trip home to visit my Mam for her 90th birthday. I must dig out the photo albums. Remember them???

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So, now you are really there! I am envious of the coast and sea, even though I don’t have far to go to see it. You seem to have escaped some heavy weather that hit the south-west yesterday, and got that ideal ‘western light’ for your photos.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    Like

Let's chat

