Wren

This little bird visits us often, but getting a photo has not been easy. I used to think that the Wren was the smallest bird in the UK, but apparently not. That title belongs to the tiny Goldcrest, one of which I have never seen.

wren

The Wren may be small, but has a beautiful and loud singing voice.

And if you’d like to see a Goldcrest amidst many other native birds then please visit Sarah Longes – Taking One Day at a Time –Β as she has recently created a series along the Basingstoke Canal called ‘Unlocking the Landscape‘. Her photography will blow you away, make sure you click on an imageΒ to enlarge it.

31 thoughts on “Wren

    1. Thanks Carol. There is a robin and a blackbird who regularly visit too, and last night we saw two bats! We had a bat which used to fly around the courtyard so it is so nice to have some here too.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Well done for getting such a great shot of a wren, they move so quickly, I always see them disappearing into hedges! I had a goldcrest in the garden right at the end of winter, it must have been hungry to come into town, it was my first and I was totally mesmerised by it.

    Like

  2. Well you certainly got an absolutely gorgeous photo rewarding your patience Jude…this is exquisite, what a beautiful little bird πŸ™‚ And you’ve taught me something too, I also thought the wren was the smallest British bird. Now I know! Love it when that happens, thank you! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I see wrens flying like tiny bullets over at Beetley Meadows. I can’t imagine how patient you have to be to get such a good photo, Jude.
    I also thought the wren was our smallest bird. Still learning!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well done to get such a sharp photo Jude. If they are like our wrens they never sit still for very long. Is that the female? Our male wrens are a glorious blue and the females are a brown similar to this one.

    Like

      1. I got a couple on Bondi and then in the Eurobodalla Gardens when they were cheeky enough to actually come on to the table – and then my battery died 😦

        Like

Let's chat

