Giew Mine lies alongside the B3311 minor road linking Penzance and St. Ives. The surviving engine house stands over the 225m deep Frank’s shaft on the western flank of Trink Hill in Towednack Parish. The engine house dates from 1874.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This mine is just over the Trink Hill that you can see behind Wheal Alice. It’s also close to our new local ‘The Engine Inn” which is in Cripplesease.

P4194485

Giew

And spying these strange holes in the side of the engine house I was surprised to see what was living in them. I hope they like their homes better than my garden.

I was also surprised to be able to see Mount’s Bay from here. It must have been a very clear day.

P4194493

And in the other direction is the Celtic Sea.

31 thoughts on “Giew Mine

  1. What a beautiful part of the world, and a lovely study of the engine house. I too hope the snails stay there!

    (I’ve looked at all your posts, but decided not to comment on ones I missed when I was away. 52 looked too daunting!)

    Like

    1. 52? Surely not. You have not been away that long! Found several snails lurking in MY garden today. Chucked them over the wall. I hate killing snails.

      Like

  2. I haven’t heard it called the Celtic Sea for years.
    Those engine houses are so evocative, and the moss and lichen add interest. The place names in your first two sentences are great aren’t they? Like some kind of fairy tale 🙂

    Like

    1. I didn’t even know there was a Celtic Sea! And don’t ask me how to pronounce Giew! Beautiful day today, but I spent most of it in the garden and know I am going to ache tomorrow!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I am finding a lot of snails in my garden – little ones, but I am sure they will grow bigger. I have asked them to move to the engine house.

      Like

    1. I didn’t know either! It stretches from west Brittany, around north Cornwall and up the Bristol Channel to north Devon, around the south of Ireland and south-west Wales.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So much history in your area Jude I don’t think you are going to run out of subjects to photograph and post about for quite a while. How does the garden grow???

    Like

    1. I have spent the last couple of days in the garden PP. All my pot plants need repotting as I haven’t done anything to them for years! I’m trying to get some in the garden, but that’s a bit more of a challenge as the borders are basically Cornish stone, so more like a rockery. And full of wild flowers! I have thousands of forget-me-nots! Some clematis and a honeysuckle. And lots of things I don’t recognise!
      The best thing is to plan for next year 🙂

      Like

      1. That sounds like a BIG project Jude. May need to use the pickaxe and lots and lots of compost… The wild flowers will be handy for your theme this month!!!

        Like

    2. I think I might get a gardener in to do the rear where there are a couple of raised beds that need repairing. Would be worth having the whole section re-done, new beds and paving. As for the walls, I shall do them slowly, by clearing the weeds / wild flowers that I don’t want to keep and planting rockery type plants such as thrift, daisies, stonecrop/sedums and erigeron. It is very windy up here so I also need to look at plants that can cope with that. Fun researching!

      Like

      1. I need to sort the house out first but I can’t resist fiddling in the garden. Still haven’t bought any plants though 😉

        Like

Let's chat

