I don’t think I willΒ ever tire of this view. The colours of Cornwall evident in the harbour and island. White cottages, orange lichen on the roofs, pale golden sand, and layers and layers of blues.

harbour-2

Where the turquoise water invites you to take off your shoes and dip your toes into the sea as the water slowly retreats.

harbour

The fog did finally lift and so we ventured into our nearest town to do the usual chores; library, butcher etc. stopping off to have a fish ‘n chip lunch followed by a paddle in the crystal clear waters around on Porthgwidden beach. A tiny ‘Blue Flag’ beautiful protected beach nestled between the islands grassy knoll and a rocky headland on the tip of the harbour.

porthgwidden-beach

And if all this walking is too tiring then you can hire a deckchair and just take in the view.

deckchairs

35 thoughts on “But when it is a blue sky day…

    1. I must admit this does almost make up for me not getting into Australia. The colour of the water and the sandy beaches are very similar to Aussie beaches on a much smaller scale. You are luckier though as most of your beaches are a lot less crowded than these. And of course the sun shines more often!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The light is spectacular. It was that light which drew us so far west. Every time we arrived in Penzance and saw Mount’s Bay our spirits lifted. I never realised just how wonderful St Ives bay is either, though knew that both areas attracted artists. Now I know why.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. When the sun shines I think this country can beat a lot of places for scenery and views, it is a shame that the weather chases people abroad. I’m lucky though because now I don’t have to worry about getting out every day, I can wait for the sun to shine knowing this is practically on my doorstep.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. These photos are like a tourist brochure they are SO inviting. I’d love to pop over, pity it is so far away, but I can enjoy it in your posts. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    1. You have your own beautiful coast and I am more than a little envious of it! It is nice to have the coast nearby again, and this is a very pretty area.

      Like

Let's chat

