I have written about the Tremenheere Sculpture Garden before, highlighting the walk through the gardens and also the texture found in its unusual planting. On a recent visit I tried to capture all of the sculptures found within the grounds including a new one.

Minotaur by Tim Shaw
(F) Minotaur by Tim Shaw

Sculptures are as subjective as any art work and a lot of the modern works leave me cold. I’ll leave the opinions on these ones to you. I do have a favourite, but I have no idea what the appeal is to me.

P1190615
(E) Untitled by Kishio Suga

(E) Minimalist installation – a line of logs within the woodland. The incised line along logs might represent one’s journey through life. The entire piece mirrors the cycle of life and decay in the natural world.

P1190729
(D) Untitled by Kishio Suga

(D) A striking installation within the landscape – a scaffolding cage encloses bamboo poles which could represent repressed energy in modern society.

P1190743
(H) Companion by Tony Latimer

Companion (H) is located in the south-eastern woodland. More Latimer sculptures are in and around the restaurant. 

P5055246
(J) Skhimza by Ken Gill

Close by you can find (J) Skhimza by Ken Gill – a beautifully located installation using glass to honour an ancient fissure in a rock face. The steps and grounds are very steep here.

Black Mound (C) by David Nash is a powerful collection of charred oak shapes in a sculptured huddle. The work is located in the woodland and resonates with the mature oaks and bluebells in season.

Below is the elliptical domed chamber which James Turrell designed as a space from which to view the sky (A) Tewlwolow Kernow

Twilight in Cornwall by James Turrell
Twilight in Cornwall by James Turrell
Elliptical dome
(A) Elliptical dome

Stone carvings by Matt Chivers (N) represents a collection of organic cloud forms and computer generated angular shapes.

A new area is currently being landscaped, this is the Gold Medal Award Winning Brewin Dolphin Garden in 2015

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Slate platforms

Fowey based garden designer Darren`s (Hawkes) wonderful creation attracted much praise and a gold medal at RHS Chelsea 2015. The hard landscaping used 41,000 pieces of slate and now the works starts to reconfigure the garden within the quite different landscape at Tremenheere. Exciting potential emerges form preliminary talks, and a bridge has been created to allow access to a new area of the garden to accommodate this work.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Slate steps

Many of the elements of the garden have been inspired by the Cornish landscape and Cornish garden design traditions; dry stone, granite walls, slate paving and hedgerow inspired planting. The monolithic stone platforms create drama when juxtaposed against the fragile fresh plants that lie underneath and between.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
(B) Tremenheere Line by Richard Long

Long has chosen a work sympathetic to the garden and its stunning views with a line of South African restios, Boloskion tetraphyllium, from the uppermost point of the garden – facing due south.

A new sculpture in the Quarry space is ‘Slip of the lip‘ by Peter Randall-Page from Devon. Wandering around it I was reminded of a belly button, a pestle and mortar, an acorn, seed-pods, Yin and Yang. And from a different angle, a serpent.

P5055245

This enigmatic work in Hassan marble rests peacefully in our `quarry` space. A work inspired by Peter`s travels in Australia, with references drawn from Eucalyptus seed pods, and with gestures towards the male and female form.

Even when leaving the grounds you are faced with more sculptures.

Skip of Light 2014
(L) Skip of Light 2014

The shiny Skip of Light (L) is by Ian Penna who is a committed environmental artist concerned about waste from the construction industry.

And finally, lurking in the bushes are these two blue pyramidal shapes.

if you are taking note of the alphabetical listings you will have noticed I have missed a few. My camera was beginning to annoy me on this day, so I shall have to go back and see if I can locate those that are missing.

Information about the sculptures has been taken from the Tremenheere Guide and website.

If you enjoy a walk, long or short then please visit Jo’s Monday Walk where you will find walks from all around the world.

28 thoughts on “Sculptures in the Garden

  1. I wish I’d known about this place a week a go – we’ve just got back from a stay in Newlyn! It looks like a fascinating place to walk around. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  2. Just took liberties with “Slip of the lip” and turned it b&w. It’s got great diagonals. I love outdoors sculpture – you can walk around it. You name the various aspects of this one beautifully.

    Like

    1. Walking around some of these is difficult but I know what you mean. The black mounds look really good with the bluebells, last year I missed them. I think you have guessed which is my favourite 😀

      Like

  3. Skipping about with delight! 🙂 Thanks, Jude! I kind of liked the Companion, though he doesn’t resemble any of mine, but then I saw the glass fissure. Love it! And those ones that look like pestle and mortars. Superb! Sending hugs 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t usually post two on one day, forgot about the Macro Monday! Anyway you found it without my linking to your Monday walk, but I will be over shortly to see where you take us today.

      Like

      1. Presume MM is scheduled then? It’s a good one. 🙂 I was on Pauline’s ‘purity’ and saw your comment. Curiosity always brings me over 🙂

        Like

  4. Any piece of art that needs to be explained to me usually doesn’t capture my attention for long.
    The Slip of a Lip is very interesting and the more I look at it, the more I like it, but the Black Mound framed by the bluebells is striking!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I know what you mean about not really understanding the underlying meaning in some modern sculpture. I have a collection of photos of unusual sculptures and I’ve often thought I should write a post entitled “Weird sculptures I have seen.” I like the black posts surrounded by bluebells.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In my previous post about the gardens I had read these described as

      ” a group of charred oak menhirs, eerily evoking a family struck by lightning, stands motionless in a circular dip”

      which is a bit gruesome, but also quite accurate.

      Like

Let's chat

