A couple of weeks ago I was pleasantly surprised to discover patches of bluebells on the top of Trencrom Hill. Today I went back to see how the then burgeoning foxgloves were faring.

purple-patch
A small purple patch below the rocks

I was not disappointed.

purple-patch-2
The purple patch close up

I was also delighted to find stonecrops (sedum) spreading out along the edges of the granite rocks, small clumps ofΒ tiny yellow (unknown) flowers, red curly dock, and golden grasses.

The rich purple spires rise above the waves of golden grasses contrasting against the bright green pastures below.

P1240427

All framed by a beautiful blue sky and fluffy white powder puff clouds.

foxglove-1

My neighbouring nature reserve just keeps on giving me pleasure.

28 thoughts on “Welcome to the foxgloves

  1. A lovely display of colourful foxgloves Jude. The header photo looks great!
    I was somewhat confused by that colour in the sky though. ‘Blue’ you say?
    I don’t think that’s allowed in Norfolk.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Company arrived? I’ve got Queens on in the background while I work on tomorrow’s post. Seesaw weather here. Yesterday lovely, today not πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Pleasure upon pleasure, Jude. Including great photos – my favourite the one you describe so well: “The rich purple spires rise above the waves of golden grasses contrasting against the bright green pastures below.”

    Like

  3. How beautiful and how lovely to have such a place on your doorstop! I have one gorgeous foxglove in my garden but the storms on Monday brought it down 😦 I’ve re-staked it though, and it looks to be recovering πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Let's chat

