Those of you who have followed me here in Cornwall from my Travel blog or Flower blog will know how much I have longed for a garden of my own having lived in a flat for five years followed by a town house with limited outside space, and may be curious to see what my new garden looks like.

It is a mature garden so has many established plants already and it has been a case of trying to identify what is there, and what has arrived there via the nearby hedgerows which are stuffed full of wild flowers.

When we bought the house the rear garden looked like this:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In April there were some signs of life, but most of the trees and shrubs were bare:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By early May things were starting to emerge and green up; forget-me-nots were prolific and the raised beds which were rotten and broken were full of weeds:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By mid-May things were on the up with some recognisable flowers in the garden:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And at the end of May things were very different, especially in the veggie patch as reinforcements arrived from Surrey together with rotary saws, sledge hammer, electric drills. Wood was bought and new raised beds created, weeds were gone (at least in this area). New roof felt was bought and shed is now watertight so tools can be safely stored. The trees are green, several clematis, some hardy geraniums, arum lilies, yellow irises are flowering and a few roses are in bud. I have replanted some of my pot plants and they are doing well in their new positions.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I found an old butler sink hidden among an overgrown clematis and had this moved on to the patio where I turned it into a succulent garden.

The raised beds and new veggie patch:

and an overview of the garden.

early june (11)
Conservatory and patio
P1230966
Lawn (with daisies) towards the rear and veg patch

There is still lots to do. Some plants are growing so fast that they are becoming out of control. A jasmine needs drastic pruning as the weight of it is pulling it to the ground. A honeysuckle has yet to flower, an exotic Chile Lantern tree (Crinodendron hookerianum) may need to be moved as a Goat Willow is overshadowing it and there are still several unidentified plants biding their time until I decide whether they stay or go. My herb and salad garden has been started – sage, thyme, chives and rosemary already planted and courgettes and kale sown. Tomatoes, strawberries and rhubarb in the other bed along with some sweet-peas. Plenty of seeds to sow. And it looks as though I am going to be overrun with self-seeding nasturtiums!

Having recently read an article outlying the advantages of gardening on your health I can wholeheartedly say that I am truly in love with my garden and hopefully by next year, I will be a lot fitter!

42 thoughts on “Changes in my garden

  1. Your garden is so beautiful and green and already looking lovely. Growing your own food is so rewarding too. I’m looking forward to seeing how your new garden develops through the seasons, Jude. It looks like you have a wonderful view over the back fence too.

    Like

    1. Haha, the green will be account of all the rain and fog we get up here, but it is exciting to see what is in the garden. I think I was over ambitious with the tomatoes, they haven’t grown very much so I might put them in pots and bring them indoors for some warmth! The leaves smell nice though… 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know the feeling of seeing new plants appear in a new garden. When we bought our first house it took a year before I knew what was planted everywhere. We built our current home and started the garden from scratch, which gave me the pleasure of planting my favourites.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Starting a new garden is wonderful as you can choose what to plant, here I am having to do a lot of removing, but there are some lovely plants emerging so not too bad. I guess over the years I shall make some changes. For now I am happy just to look after what exists.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I think my pot plants are appreciating it too as I have managed to get some into the soil and others repotted at long last. More treasures about to flower too… 🙂

      Like

  2. OMG that little piece of paradise was so worth the wait! It’s idyllic and adorable rolled into one. Congratulations. I imagine many balmy nights on that patio sipping chilled Sauvignon Blanc dreaming of faraway places and hatching long-dreamt over garden ideas xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am hoping that we get some warm evenings to sit out there, so far it hasn’t happened. Not to worry, plans are being hatched in the conservatory 😉

      Like

  3. You have done so much in a short time, Jude, you put me to shame after four years here.
    I am so pleased that you have your long-for garden at last, and that you are enjoying it.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. To be fair Pete this garden is mature so I have been mainly trying to keep on top of it so far. The raised beds would have waited a year if the kids hadn’t helped me.

        Like

  4. Jude it’s lovely and just a nice size. I can tell how much work has gone into it and how much love. It has plenty of treasure, and hasn’t it been exciting patiently waiting to see what comes up? I’m really fond of hardy geraniums and had quite a few in a previous garden, they are such good value plants and yours are pretty. Enjoy your first summer in Cornwall, oh and come to Devon sometime 🙂

    Like

    1. It is the right size Gilly. I would have liked bigger, but this takes enough time to maintain it. I think once I get the overgrown stuff under control it will be easier. I am loving being here, still feels like we are on holiday. Devon definitely but may have to wait until next year 🙂

      Like

  5. I’m amazed at how much stuff you’ve got flowering and thriving already, and the trough is a great feature. We have one too but nothing so charismatic as your sink. What I really love though, Jude, is the back view of the house itself. I love the old stone and it’s such a pleasing shape with your conservatory. Good on ya! I can see now why you’re prepared to put up with smelly cows 🙂 🙂

    Like

    1. Another couple of hours in the garden this evening and another bag of prunings and weeds! The sink was a lucky find, and even the cows are amusing 🙂

      Like

  6. Jude I loved seeing the garden and a glimpse of your new home. So much character and charm. I am heart warmed at the image of you enjoying this beautiful backyard and transforming it. How is the sleep coming along with the agricultural choir? Hoping there is some harmony and rest developing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sue! I think I am getting used to the choir – fortunately not so bad at night now, though early morning choruses are still frequent but I am able to turn over and go back to sleep.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. You have a truly fantastic garden! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the pictures. And you have done an awful lot of work! I hope you can enjoy the beauty of your garden during a great summer.

    Like

    1. I haven’t done much work at all Pit, other than weeding and pruning and mowing. The bones of the garden were already in place and my daughter and partner cleared up all the back area and rebuilt the raised beds, I am very grateful to them for that. And I love being outside – some sun would be helpful!

      Like

    1. Thanks Sylvia. There are a lot of plants already in this garden so I am basically observing what comes up! Some I still haven’t identified and some are definitely weeds to be removed. Such fun. And I’m already making plans for new plants…

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I have been waiting to see your garden Jude and I drool over it. You have achieved so much in such a short time. It is looking glorious as every thing starts to show their colours. The raised beds will be the way to go with the herbs and veg and I can just imagine you and OH sitting on the patio with a glass of wine, nibbles and contentment watching the sun go down. I’d love to join you….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Found the perfect spot for the sunset watching bench – out in the parking area! Great view unobscured by any neighbouring sheds. And I think it is a spot where I may grow some shrub roses. All in good time! And then you can join us 🙂

      Like

  9. What an interesting post – it’s a great idea to show us how things have developed since you moved in. Your garden looks lovely and to have open countryside behind you is a huge bonus – I would love to have that. You have done a wonderful job with it so far and must feel very pleased with yourself when you sit on your patio admiring your handiwork. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No time for sitting yet Elaine. Still some weeds to clear from under the hazel corkscrew and then I need to tackle the courtyard entrance where a Virginia creeper is going haywire!

      Like

  10. Oh Jude, I wanted to pop in over and see you before I disappear from blogland, and I’m so glad I didn’t miss this post! Your house and garden is so beautiful, and those views…wow! I hope you keep a chair spare for when I drop by, Pimms in hand (or would you prefer bubbly?) LOL! You have a shed now, yay! Next, a summerhouse perhaps? I love the way you’ve shown us the changes since you first viewed it, and your new raised veggie gardens look great. How wonderful for you to have your own garden again after all this time. I know how I felt when I finally got my own English garden again, so I’m dancing with you! I smiled when you mentioned about your jasmine getting too heavy and your honeysuckle. I put in both not long after we moved 8 years ago as well as a rambling rose, all close together, to provide privacy against the fence and created a trellised archway down some steps to the bottom part of the garden. Earlier today hubby and I were out there cutting a lot of it back is was like a jungle!! And it definitely keeps you fitter. Have a wonderful summer in your new home my friend 🙂 xx

    Like

    1. Aw, thanks for popping by Sherri. I still covert a summerhouse – who knows, maybe I can find space for a wee one. The veggie beds have now been painted to match the conservatory and are full of weeds! How come the weeds grow and the ‘proper’ plants don’t? Saying that the lettuces have grown and some radishes are coming through and the birds are enjoying the strawberries. Had to hack the jasmine back again today – my that is rampant stuff! Maybe I’ll get a few flowers from it, but I shall have to hack it right back at the end of the summer. Let’s hope we get some hot weather Sherri so we can sit outside and enjoy both our little patches of paradise 😀
      Cheers my friend!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Tell me about those darn weeds, more than ever this year it seems. Must be all the rain. Yes, I agree,this must the year for rampart jasmine growth, I’ve had to cut mine right back for the first time in the summer! Hopefully you will soon have some flowers, mine is going to soon I think, pretty creamy ones and smells divine. I’ll take a pic when I get back and send it to you. Oh let’s hope for some hot weather…raining this Monday morning as I type 😦 But supposed to get better in the week. I’m sure you’ll find the perfect spot for your summerhouse one day…but I’m just so happy for you that you have a shed at last! I love how tucked away it is…and again, your view is stunning! Enjoy your beautiful garden this summer Jude no matter the weather and I’ll be in touch soon! Cheers back to you my friend! xxxx

        Liked by 1 person

Let's chat

