It has been a busy month. Since I last wrote about my new life in Cornwall we have had several visitors, the garden has burgeoned  into a green oasis and the days have grown longer and lighter.

At the end of May I made another visit over to Marazion and St Michael’s Mount to see what was flowering in the garden, followed by a lovely lunch in the Godolphin Hotel where we met up with old friends of the OH, over from Canada. Naturally we invited them home and took them up ‘our’ hill, where bluebells were in full bloom.

The end of the month also brought family from Surrey, who revamped the back of my new garden, turning it from a wildlife haven – broken, rotten raised beds full of weeds and forget-me-nots – into neat raised beds ready for planting. I’m not intending to grow lots of fruit and veg, but I am keen to grow herbs and salads so this has enabled me to do so. It also marked a birthday and a good family lunch at Ben’s Sennen Cove restaurant not too far from Land’s End. It was a gorgeous week weather-wise and everyone and his dog appeared to be in Sennen Cove that day; we spent ages looking for a space to park the cars and I ended up on the top of the hill! Good views though 🙂

View from within the restaurant
View from within the restaurant

The kids enjoyed the closeness to the beaches and spent a lot of time body boarding at Gwithian whilst my daughter and I paddled along the shoreline and snooped in rock pools. I treated them all to a surf lesson for their birthdays which they thoroughly enjoyed and can’t wait to go surfing again and we had a picnic lunch on ‘our’ hill which also provides a great place for Parkour!

kids

I discovered that the traffic gets very busy around here in the school holidays and that even in term time St Ives is very popular. Getting to a car park can be quite hairy too as the ‘roads’ in the town are little more than alleyways! I really need to buy a smaller car!

P1240018

A day out up north took me to a lovely Japanese garden in St Mawgan near the Newquay airport and to Bedruthan Steps on the north coast where I was able to go down the 120 steps on to the beach and have a closer look at the rocks.

BS-phone-(24)

And then mid June another member of the family arrived from Essex – OH’s daughter together with fiancé so we went back up the hill where much to my delight the foxgloves had replaced the bluebells.

P1240412

A visit to St Ives proved a delight despite the fact that it was pouring with rain when we set off. Ominous black clouds hung over the land, but the afternoon turned out nice.

clouds

A stroll around the island up to St Nicolas’s chapel then across Porthgwidden beach and into the harbour from where we headed to Barbara Hepworth’s Sculpture Garden which was swarming with a school party. Cornish ice-cream to end the afternoon and dinner in a local pub finished the day well.

P1240483

A drive around West Penwith calling in at some of my favourite spots ended the visit. Little Trevalgan, just outside of St Ives on the wonderful B3306 coastal road which runs between St Ives and St Just, usually provides excellent views along the coast and the narrow strip of agricultural land betwixt sea and craggy hills, but not on this occasion. Although the sun tried to break through the clouds were too heavy this day. But it didn’t rain so that is a bonus.

The day continued to be dull with cloud and mist obscuring all the views, though it was still a pleasure to see Carn Galver mine and engine house, Levant and Cape Cornwall. I forgo the enjoyment of a gooseberry yoghurt ice as we raced across the peninsula to Marazion and the enchanting island surrounded by sea. Chowder made a good substitute.

P1240653

And, as always, there was the joy of discovery along the lanes in this part of Cornwall.

The Cardinal is continuing his photo project throughout 2016 – a blogging event, a monthly photo challenge. Read his blog for the new rules this year (he is running two versions) and to view his interpretation and those of other participants.

43 thoughts on “Monthly Photo Challenge: June

  1. What a lovely full month – and what beauty and achievements. There’s a new energy in your posts, I think. Maybe the absolute delight of new places? I love the Parkour shot, and the photos of what you find in the laneways particularly. You really do have a little piece of heaven even if you no longer have the EU.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. From where I am living now Meg it hardly feels like I belong to England let alone anywhere else! Not so sure about the energy though, this post was dragged together late at night as I never seem to get on to the computer theses days!

      Like

  2. You have certainly made the best of your move, Jude, and you didn’t hang about either.
    I have wondered about the issues of living in such a popular tourist area, when it comes to parking, and going about your everyday life. The summer season will probably show you the places best avoided, if you haven’t already worked that out.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    Like

    1. Having lived in Ludlow for five years which was also a tourist town – food festivals, art and music and coachloads of tourists – the busyness doesn’t bother me. Plenty of places to visit and we can get in to St Ives on the train if need be, but actually Hayle has pretty much all we need and a big Asda car park!

      Like

  3. What a glorious piece of heaven you live in!! The only downside I can detect is the congestion of travel and trying to park – my 2 personal nightmares.
    You are surrounded by staggering beauty. Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Surprisingly I haven’t been out as much as I thought I would! mainly because I am enjoying the garden so much – still lots to do in the house but I figure that can wait until the winter months 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cornwall looks like a nice place. I’d love to take a walk on that beach. It’s good that there was a group of people there when you took the photo so that we get an impression of the size of the beach/rocks.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jude it looks to me like you have moved ot paradise. Well perhaps not the traffic and parking congestion but given the beauty of your surroundings it’s understandable others want to take it in.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Such a busy month Jude I’m surprised you can find time to blog, but I’m so pleased you do and share all your adventures and discoveries in your patch. I particularly liked the photo of the rock outcrops with the tiny ant like people scrambling around them, gave it perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This post was just like a refreshing short holiday! 🙂 Wonderful photos. Good to see that you are so happy and enjoying life in Cornwall, Jude.
    Take care,
    lots of love from the four of us. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Dina, it feels like we are on holiday all the time! Even the weather doesn’t bother me, after all we had rain and grey skies in Ludlow too; here it is rather different. And we can watch the clouds roll in and pass by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Let's chat

