After a walk around another churchyard in Phillack I followed a track on to the dunes in the hope of getting a view of the sea. I vaguely wondered whether I’d come across any orchids or common blue butterflies, but saw neither until I turned around to walk back and there at the side of the path were dozens of magenta pyramidal orchids (Anacamptis pyramidalis). How did I miss them?

pyramidal-orchid

The name ‘pyramidal’ comes from the conical shape of the young inflorescence of this plant. Once the flower is fully developed it becomes more cylindrical or egg-shaped.

19 thoughts on “I spy…

    1. I think gorge nous will do. How big? A few inches off the ground I’d say. In amongst the dune grass.Not hard to see on the way back so maybe it was the sunlight that hid them from view. Or maybe I need to go to Specsavers!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I knew they grew in this environment which is why I carried on to the dune area, but I didn’t expect to see quite so many. Little beauties, but nothing as dramatic as your locals 🙂

      Like

      1. I have folders full, Jude. You’ll have to come round. 🙂 🙂 Not just orchids, I don’t mean but I’d have to post every day to show you half my stuff and we all know life’s too short.

        Liked by 1 person

Let's chat

