Long gone are the bluebells of spring, the purple foxgloves of early-summer. Replaced now by golden oat-like grasses and magenta bell heather. It’s a remarkable nature play-ground.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
One of the tracks up the hill

On the way up I couldn’t help noticing the grasses were much taller and almost hidden within them were tall, bright purple flowers that I had to stop and have a closer look at.

They turned out to be Betony (betonica officinalis)  and as well as the purple there was a few of the white variety. Another plant with sage / mint-like leaves was also hidden amongst the grasses, but so far I haven’t managed to identify it. Apologies for the poor quality, but it was very windy (as it so often is).

I can't resist the view
I can’t resist the view

Reaching the top I have to take a photo of the sea view before turning my attention to the rocks and the flowers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Purple bell-heather

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe bracken has greened up too over the summer. But here on the top it is all very much more golden.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The grasses wave in the wind, creating an almost sea-like appearance. With the dying spikes of the foxgloves waving about like strange sea anemones.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And once again the light here is magnificent. I turn my attention to the rocks themselves and start to notice the shapes and give them names.

Stack of pancakes
Mick Jagger (lips)
Crocodile
Crocodile
Toad
Toad

Several look like Logan or rocking stones:

A rock which, through weathering, has become disjoined from the parent-rock and is pivoted upon it… Such rocks can be ‘logged’, set in motion without fear of their over balancing.”

I haven’t tried to rock one… yet.

28 thoughts on “Trencrom Hill: Late Summer

  1. Did you expect it to be so windy, Jude? It seems almost a constant. I love your rocks though. Just the right number of them. 🙂 Can I rename your croc ‘dragon’, because I really don’t like crocs. I could never live in Florida 🙂

    Like

    1. or Africa or Australia… I like dragons, very Welsh 🙂

      And yes I did expect it to be windy, whenever you see a programme on TV filmed by the coast it seems to be always windy. Actually had two days that have been very still. And it is very warm!

      Like

  2. Great fun with the rock naming Jude, I agree with Jo, the croc looks like a sleepy dragon. I hope you identify the mystery plant, I’m intrigue, it looks shrubby? It will be windy up on that hill in three months time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I missed this one at the time. The windswept views – small and large – and those fabulous rocks – all so exciting, Jude. I was listening to something on the World Service during a wakeful moment, which means I only half remember it, but some neuroscientist was saying that they have discovered that human minds are totally wired to places i.e. taking in details so they remember where they are. Obviously it makes sense and your life may depend on it if you’re a hunter-gatherer, but it explains why landscapes have such resonance for us, when we allow ourselves to truly look.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And maybe why some places feel like home. I love being in the open and on the top of hills – iron-age forts, castles. But hate being underground. I can’t imagine that I am a descendant of cave-dwellers or foresters.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's chat

