Not the first one spent in Cornwall as we visited 3 years ago during October to continue our house hunt which was only partially successful. Yes we found a house we liked, yes we put in an offer that was successful, but the sellers gazumped us only a few days before completion by accepting a higher bid from someone else, who later reduced their offer to match ours. Bitter? Us? Well, maybe. A little.

Mousehole Harbour
Mousehole Harbour

Anyway we are here now although in a slightly different location and an altogether nicer house, and today decided to head over to the south coast for a celebratory lunch at the Old Coastguard Hotel in Mousehole (pronounced Mowzel) to celebrate not only my ahem! birthday, but also thirteen years of marriage. The really nice thing about living here is that there are so many lovely places with decent restaurants/pubs/cafΓ©s in which to eat that we are spoiled for choice. It had to be somewhere with a sea view though.

Mousehole Harbour
Mousehole Harbour

It has been a fair, but breezy day with a little hint of sunshine. A good day to blow away the cobwebs. It takes us about 15 minutes to nip over to this side of the peninsula, rather longer if we take a more scenic route over the west Penwith moorland, which we did on our return.

Mousehole Harbour
Mousehole Harbour

Apart from the menu, I had an ulterior motive for coming here. I wanted to scour the galleries for a piece of naive artwork. Not an original, but something to complement two other prints I have picked up over recent years in a similar style. One from Kirkcudbright and the other from Aberaeron. Only fitting to have one from this part of the world.

I didn’t go home disappointed. A colourful image of St Michael’s Mount now awaits a frame along with the other two. But I have a slight hankering over a couple more by the same artist.

The food didn’t disappoint either. Sitting snug and warm indoors with views over the garden where Cornish palms whipped to and fro in the wind and white-caps formed over the sea.

Plaice for ‘im with pistachio and fig tart to follow accompanied by orange and saffron ice-cream.

Pork loin for me with fennel, celeriac rosti and apple puree, followed by a chocolate delice and marmalade ice-cream.

A most satisfying day which ended with a delightful sunset. As Wallace and Gromit would say

A grand day out….

and now I am going to open the champagne…

…and Joanne, I haven’t forgotten either and I shall raise a glass to you!

48 thoughts on “Just another (birth) day

  1. Looks like a perfect birthday, Jude! Nice to have got married on your birthday too.
    Complemented by some great shots, signifying an enjoyable day, in every respect.
    My late ‘Happy Birthday’, and as ever, my regards as always.
    Pete. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, a very happy birthday, Jude. And what a lovely place to spend it…I love Mousehole. Stayed there a few years ago, in the Ship Inn with my sister. Wonderful walk along coastal path to Lamorna. Happy days!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary. Two perfect reasons to celebrate, with a spectacular meal thrown in. We didn’t get to Mousehole, although I really wanted to. We just didn’t have enough time in Cornwall. The next visit will be at least two weeks. I love the thought of marmalade ice cream. How delicious.

    Like

    1. It really did taset like marmalade and I love marmalade – the proper home-made stuff not necessarily the shop bought kind. Mousehole, like St Ives, is very touristy with lots of second homes and holiday lets, but it has such character still.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We think we need to come back and spend at least two weeks in Cornwall. We adored Falmouth and had the most amazing view of the harbour from our airbnb house but next time I think we should base ourselves somewhere more central so we can head off in any direction.

        Like

    2. Truro is a good spot to stay in. We used a holiday let on a farm close to Truro for our house hunting trips as we could get to most of Cornwall in an hour – north to Bodmin and even Bude and south to Penzance. West Penwith and the Lizard. The beaches on the north coast are only 20 minutes away.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The M5 is always a pain unless you go midweek and manage to avoid an accident! The worst motorway has to be the M25 though. Unavoidable for me when visiting the Daughter and always stop start! My son (Aussie) thinks the distances here equal those in your country, he doesn’t realise just how crowded our roads are.

        Like

      2. We decided that was the difference – the number of vehicles. When we drove from York to London we avoided the M1 and went on the A1. It was a much more pleasant trip. I guess we just need to remember that there are three times as many people in a country that fits into Tasmania.

        Like

      1. My neighbour is 69, she says she’s not looking forward to the next one. Like buying something at Β£9.99 seems much less than Β£10 πŸ˜€ I personally don’t much bother with birthdays, we get older every day and as long as I can still get up in the morning and remember my name, then all’s well πŸ™‚ Just gotta keep moving..

        Like

      2. I’m happy at 69, and I’ll be happy at 70, too. I’m really happy and grateful about what all I can still do, like bicycling or garden work. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh Jude – thanks so much for the toast! It looks like you had a LOVELY birthday!!

    So I was thinking about you today when I planned how I wanted to spend the day. I decided to go down to Cabbagetown and walk around, took MANY photos, and told myself how much I was sure you would love it.
    I didn’t have a glass of bubbly, but did I have a glass of Shiraz. Happy Birthday πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I shall look forward to that post. My photos from that time are not so good, but there are one or two houses that are amazing – did you visit the necropolis too?

      Like

  5. Why do we all marry close to our birthday???? It looks as if you had a great day: interesting to see you adding food photography to your repertoire. I love the sharp clarity of your photos of the boats. Only disappointment not seeing what you purchased. May you and ‘im have many more such celebrations.

    Like

    1. Well in my case it was because I had just started the teacher training course and had no time off so we grabbed the first possible date! I don’t think I shall make a habit of food photography (other than market stalls) it felt a bit weird!

      Like

  6. Happy belated birthday Jude, I’m so sorry I wasn’t here yesterday, I haven’t been about much. It looks like you had a lovely day and that food to die for. How fabulous to find a piece of art that you love as well x πŸ™‚ x

    Like

Let's chat

