October has been a strange month. Quiet. Having returned home after three weeks travelling east and north to Scotland it was a relief to be back home and unpack. Living out of a suitcase for more than a few days becomes very wearying. I also missed my garden, which had turned feral whilst I was away – weeds spreading themselves all over the veggie beds, grass growing as high as my knees. It took a while to tame it all again.

pa020006

After a slightly damp and foggy start to the month the weather changed and with an easterly wind we experienced a wind free garden for over a week. The first time since moving here. The sun shone though it wasn’t always very warm and although we had a couple of walks to the hill and drives to St Ives for shopping and chores, and a visit to the delightful Mousehole (Mowzel) for a celebratory lunch we didn’t really go out anywhere. I think after the previous hectic weeks we wanted to nest again and just enjoy the peaceful surroundings of our country home. To be honest having views like these makes us a little lazy when it comes to exploring our new county.

pa020017

And then I went to Barcelona. Returned and fell ill with a fluey/cold virus which kept me out of the garden and off the computer for a while.

Of course I always take my camera with me when I leave the house so I do have a few photos to share from this month. Above is from the circular walk around Trencrom Hill and below images from Mousehole and St Ives.

A birthday sunset
A birthday sunset

On the beach

The sun is so low now that even in mid afternoon it casts long shadows, and since Sunday when the clocks went back (why do we still mess about with the clocks?) the sun disappears over the hills at 5:00 and by 5:30 it is dark.  We are now entering my least favourite time of the year, but my first winter in Cornwall so I am slightly more enthusiastic wondering what is in store for us.

pa170064

The Cardinal is continuing his photo project throughout 2016 – a blogging event, a monthly photo challenge. Read his blog for the new rules this year (he is running two versions) and to view his interpretation and those of other participants.

53 thoughts on “Monthly Photo Challenge: October

    1. I suspect that will depend on the weather – apparently it can be grey from November to March so we shall see. I hope not, grey is my least favourite colour for the sky 😦 but once I shift this virus I will attempt to get out more and maybe visit some Christmas markets.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Grey is my least favourite, too….today’s weather! By contrast, yesterday was bright and sunny, with plenty of contrast……

        Like

  1. An idyllic pastoral scene in the top photo, Jude. I know what you mean about this time of year. Dark around 5 pm last night, and foggy and misty all day today. Hard to get enthusiastic, but at least you have somewhere different now, for your seasonal record in photos.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    Like

    1. I hate the fact it gets dark so early, but trying to keep positive that in 49 days we reach the shortest day and then it is upwards all the way! One point about living here is that when darkness falls it really is dark. No street lights! Probably similar for you. I’m not keen on night driving in such darkness so we tend to stay indoors during this time of year. I shall have to make an effort and get out during the daylight hours!

      Like

      1. Same here with no streetlights. Pitch black by 6 pm. Makes me sleep better, but not good for anything else. I also never drive at night, unless I have no alternative.
        Fortunately, it doesn’t bother Julie, so if we go out she drives. No help for you unfortunately, being the only driver in the house.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I missed something! Two somethings: Barcelona and birthday. When’s the latter, so I don’t miss it again? And happy belated! I know what you mean about nesting in. All Saints today and I’ll be very cranky if I miss the lit up cemetery, but it’s cold and wet. I love you bit of Cornwall. Is that the shadow of a gate in the first shot? Beautifully placed, whatever it is.

    Like

    1. Barcelona over on Travel Words if you want to visit. Birthday was beginning of October – there is a post on here about the day. And the shadow is a gate into the field. I had to get that in to the photo 🙂

      Like

  3. Looks like a beautiful October in Cornwall. As to living out of a suitcase: I agree with you. It’s not too pleasnat for me either. We had to, though, recently, on our “RailTrailsRoadTrip” [http://tinyurl.com/zkv6kvt].
    Have a great week,
    Pit

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been quite lucky in that this is the first cold I have had since flying to Australia 2 years ago! Which makes me think I caught the virus on the plane back from Barcelona 😦

      Like

  4. Oh Jude, we will definitely have to return to Cornwall and spend more time. Mr ET thinks two weeks, but I’m saying at least three weeks to really explore and enjoy. Living out of a suitcase is my favourite thing to do. 🙂 You do live in a beautiful place. I’m looking forward to seeing, via your photos, what Cornwall is like in winter. Happy November to you.

    Like

    1. Thanks Carol! 2 weeks is probably enough depending on what you want to see and do – if you base yourself in Truro then everything is at most one hour away. We visited north Cornwall, Bodmin and Penzance from there. Or have a week in Truro and a week in Penwith as it is very different down here. Truro has a train line too so you could visit Plymouth and Exeter from there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We’ve been five times – 1999, 2006, 2008, 2013 and 2016. This time was really only because our daughter was living in Manchester and in 15 days she leaves for Canada, so we may not be back for a while. But eventually we’ll be there again. We still have so many areas we haven’t been to.

        Like

      2. Everyone is asking us that and we haven’t even really talked about it yet. It depends partly on how long she stays. She has a two year visa but I suspect she will come home before that, or save her money so she can travel elsewhere on the way. The trouble is that she is a little unpredictable and when we have to decide so far ahead she may not actually be there when the time comes. Part of the reason for going to UK in 2013 was because she was going to be in London, but she ended up working on a Disney cruise ship in the Caribbean! We still had a great trip though. 🙂

        Like

      3. I’ve lost count of the countries and places she’s been to. She’s worked in France, USA and England and as part of the Disney cruise ship staff she travelled through the Caribbean, the Bahamas and Alaska. She has a very adventurous spirit and isn’t afraid to go places on her own.

        Like

  5. Hope you’re soon feeling back on top form. I’ve always liked the autumn but am not keen on the clocks going back – it takes a few days to resign ourselves to it, doesn’t it? Those beach shots are so atmospheric.

    Like

  6. I got confused there and thought On the beach was a separate post. 😦 Settled back in again now and sniffle free? It turned very nippy here today and then damp, but we’ve had a good run for our money. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry to confuse you (I know it doesn’t take much 😉 😉 ) Afraid I am still snuffling and probably snoring, but let’s not go there. We had a damp day and cold – yesterday was sunny and cold. But like you say, can’t really complain. Apparently October was the warmest in Cornwall for fifty years! Hope it carries on like that. And where are you wandering off to for the birthday weekend may I ask?

      Like

      1. I just accidentally trashed your last comment. Tee, hee! 🙂 I was going to say that as a land lubber you’d be better staying at my place. Not really doing a birthday gig. We have booked our next flights to the Algarve though. Didn’t really intend to but how can you turn down £14.99 each way??? Smiling 🙂 🙂

        Like

      2. 7am isn’t great but it will be so nice to get away after Christmas, which will be a bit flat this year. Not that it’s usually exciting but with no Dad… We’re going 2nd January for 2 weeks so it could be cool and damp. Who knows 🙂

        Like

      3. I suspect it won’t be long until you retire out there permanently now. And 7 am is a lot better than the 6:15 am flight we had to Barcelona!

        Like

      4. As I think I told you my dad died just before Christmas and it was a total washout. Never really been the same since. But this being my first Christmas in Cornwall there must be something exciting going on somewhere!

        Like

  7. A nice summary of your October. I’m not happy about the darkness by 5:30 either … and I know it’s going to get much worse.
    However, I’m looking forward to your first winter in Cornwall too and the wonderful photos you’ll be sharing 🙂

    Like

Let's chat

