November has been another quiet month. I am not good in cold or wet weather and it has been a tad windy too. I know I should get out more, but during the first week I was still getting over the cold I came down with in October – who says colds should only last five days? Mine certainly didn’t and then it turned into a racking cough; the kind that hurt your ribs. So only excursions were those for necessities like changing the library books and buying the groceries.

So most of the images this month are from the garden or close by.

pb130022
Wheal Alice

A lot of muddy lanes now
A lot of muddy lanes now

I spent a lot of time watching the birds. Flocks of fieldfares are the most entertaining as they swoop and dive above the hedgerows; seagulls float above; the corvids are silent. Blackbird, robin and wren have returned to the garden. Wagtails come to bathe. Sunlight catches the white undersides of the seagulls, the wingtips of the magpie and the buff underbelly of the fieldfare. If only I was quick enough with the camera.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On a bright day I got out into the garden to see what was still flowering

And found some fungi on an old tree stump:

The neighbour’s Cornish palm (Cordyline Australis) is still glowing

pb040031

and the false castor oil plant (Fatsia Japonica) comes into its own in November when the flowers open up. They are creamy white, spherical, and carried in open-branched clusters at the tips of the stems. The bees and flies love them!

Most of the trees and hedgerows are bare now

pb130029

and when it is raining or blowing a hooley I have resorted to some indoor photography. The Christmas cactus is the best I have seen it flower in a dozen years – it obviously loved the summer outdoors and the cold conservatory in which it lives now.

I may have to be a bit more inventive next month!

The Cardinal is continuing his photo project throughout 2016 and 2017 – a blogging event, a monthly photo challenge. Read his blog for the new rules this year (he is running two versions) and to view his interpretation and those of other participants.

32 thoughts on “Monthly Photo Challenge: November

  1. Despite the weather, and being unwell, you still manage to offer us a great crop of seasonal photos, Jude.
    (Very cold here for the last few days. Barely above freezing during the day, despite the sunshine.)
    Best wishes, Pete. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not much warmer here Pete, though no frost. It looks lovely through the windows, but venturing out is very different. I am happy to watch the birds coming in to the garden 🙂

      Like

      1. -10 in Wales last night and -9 in Oxfordshire. Even as low as -3 in the south-west, but not here. With those sort of temperatures it struggles to reach 0 degrees in the day! Air coming from the arctic.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. My first November in this county so I am more than happy that it wasn’t entirely grey! And less rain than I expected. Though when it did rain, it came down hard!

      Like

      1. I go for a shiatsu overhaul now and then, and my practitioner thinks we humans of the north actually have a great urge to hibernate just now. Things change again at the winter solstice – of course traditionally party time of the old, old kind. So if your body wants to stay indoors, it’s probably where it needs to be 🙂 We do so nag ourselves with good intentions.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. For someone who has been sick and hasn’t been able to get out much, you have managed to take some fabulous pictures of your little corner of the world, Jude. I sure hope you’re feeling better now. I remember how miserable I was with walking pneumonia when we returned from Iceland; I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. I love that cow picture with the blurry background, the fieldfare, and your wonderful garden. Happy December! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I sometimes enjoy getting sick because it gives me an excuse to stay inside, warm and cozy, and watch movies or read good books, to do nothing of any importance. Soon enough, you’ll be back out and about, I’m sure. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m with you about going out. I’d stay in a lot more if it weren’t for the preschool run, but I’m glad to be driven out. The wind is what gets me most. Even the kids were eager to leave their favourite pastime of gazing into a toy shop window for the warmth of home the other day: Jaś actually got buffeted backwards.

    I’m really enjoying your birds, including the description here, and I’m surprised there’s so much still in the garden. Wheat Alice and her background are always a pleasure.

    Are you over the cold yet? I finally got a flu injection the other day, delayed since September by the odd symptom that luckily didn’t turn into anything more serious. Today’s the snowiest yet here, as J stumbles home: Hong Kong to Frankfurt cancelled, and LOT to Warsaw running late.

    Like

    1. I am enjoying the return of the little birds to the garden and even invested in some feeders – though they haven’t been used very much yet. I guess they have to get used to them and spread the word! I have never had a flu jab – but then I rarely get flu – and I worry that having the jab will actually make me ill. You will have to have a good hot meal ready for J on his return. He is going to need it!

      Like

    1. Me neither CG but I can’t stand the heat now either so where does that leave me? Actually Cornwall is OK except then you have to put up with damp and foggy days 😦

      Like

Let's chat

