On the first day of December I thought it was time to see how my favourite hill was doing. My first shock on climbing over the solid granite stile was in finding that the undergrowth had been scythed to the ground (sadly Ross Poldark was nowhere to be seen…)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The second was seeing the gorse in flower again reminding me of the proverb:

When the gorse is out of bloom,
kissing’s out of fashion.

The idea behind the saying is that gorse is always in flower somewhere. The saying is recorded from the mid 19th century.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Smoke rose from below, whether from a domestic fire or a bonfire I wasn’t able to tell, and the distant view was obscured by low cloud and mist.

I could just make out the blue waters of the bay as the sun peeped out from beneath the clouds, illuminating the fresh green crops emerging  below.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I went to sit on my favourite spot from where I can see both coasts, and simply enjoy the tranquillity of this ancient place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

even if I wasn’t entirely alone.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Turning away from the sea, the views to the south are verdant green pastureland.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As the winter sun began to set the dying bracken turned to burnished copper and winter-bare trees to gold in the soft late afternoon light.

And I walked home.

21 thoughts on “Trencrom Hill: A winter’s tale

  1. I love this reflective post and atmospheric landscapes. Thanks for sharing the gorse saying. I’ve often seen it in flower when not expecting it and have wondered ‘what is its flowering season?’. Now I know!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's chat

