Ruddy Turnstones (the ones with the red legs) and Sanderlings* (the white and pale grey ones) having fun on the beach at Marazion.

(click on the photo to enlarge)

pc110129

The way in which they ran in to the sea as the waves retreated and then ran back again as the waves came in made me smile. Their behaviour was reminiscent of small children chasing the waves.

pc110117

The Sanderling’s black legs blur as it runs back and forth on the beach, picking or probing for tiny prey in the wet sand left by receding waves.

* I think they are sanderlings, or maybe a semipalmated sandpiper, the trouble is there are several species that look very similar. Maybe Becky can ID them?

22 thoughts on “A winter’s day on the sea shore

    1. Thank you Meg. Same to you and all your family. Have fun! Such a shame we haven’t been able to meet up whilst you are in Europe, but I am guessing it is too late now. Next time for definite.

      Like

      1. It didn’t pan out as I expected. I couldn’t bear being away from the kids for long enough to go far afield, and pre-school dropoff on four days also put a hole in adventures out of Morskie Oko. I doubt I’ll even get to Poznań to see my friend there. Australia begins arriving on January 24, and my granddaughter is talking about staying on and exploring a bit on her own. Next time I’ll plan ahead for it – that’s how I managed 2014.

        Like

    1. We only stopped by for a coffee at the hotel which overlooks St Michael’s Mount, one of our favourite spots to sit and enjoy the view. Got distracted by these lovely little sandpipers.

      Like

    1. I’m not sure of anything except they are some kind of sandpiper – there are a lot! Could be a dunlin in winter plumage. Sanderlings are similar but pale grey and white and I think have a shorter bill. I’ll never be a twitcher!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You made it to the beach! 🙂 🙂 And so did we today. It was fresh but sunny, with an excellent seafood restaurant. Drawing breath before James arrives. No Lisa, sadly, and yes, it was Beamish. Glad you liked it. Hugs, Jude.

    Liked by 1 person

Let's chat

