Solitude #1

p1220063

It’s good to disconnect once in a while.
To hit the road and head off on your own,
absorb the beauty around you.

Listen to the birdsong,
and the stillness.
Smell the earth
and the new growth
freshly washed
by winter rain.
Relax those shoulders

and let the mind flow.
And feel at ease
With oneself.

I have never had a problem being on my own. The older I get the more relaxed I feel in my own company. I don’t use social media other than blogging, I don’t carry my mobile phone everywhere and I certainly don’t check it constantly. I prefer to sit and watch people passing by rather than have my head down. To meet their eyes and share a smile. It doesn’t happen often. I don’t even wear a watch, but I usually know what time of day it is. I seek solitude and treasure every single moment of MY time.

Daily Post Photo Challenge | solitude

33 thoughts on “Solitude #1

  1. Fooled me! I thought it was going to be another magnificent seascape when I saw the clouds. ๐Ÿ™‚ Is that OH ahead of you?
    Yes, I think we feel pretty much alike on this, Jude. I never argue with myself. (well, not often ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Have a happy weekend!

    Like

    1. Yup, that was the OH. Comes in useful for those solo shots. I was going to use another surfer with the lighthouse in the background, but I quite liked the idea of this one. And I don’t fall out with myself much either ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That sounds like something I might have written myself. I also never wear a watch, carry a phone, or follow any social platforms other than for blogging. There is no point retiring away from the rat race, or the bustle of towns and cities, then seeking the same in the countryside. You have got it right, Jude, and your photo says it all.
    Best wishes, Pete. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment. I like walking alone because I can go at my speed and stop when I want to as I am always carrying a camera. My OH is good to walk with because he goes and does his own thing too and I don’t have to worry about him hanging around for me.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s interesting to see how many of us in our blogging group feel the same, how we seem to be drawn to similar people even though most of us have never met in real life. When you consider how many blogs there are out there, it is quite amazing.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's chat

