I don’t need much of an excuse to visit a garden and after a year of watching my new garden grow I have decided that it is in need of some extra plants so what better than to combine a trip to a nursery which also has its own woodland gardens (Ailsa of Travel Theme is gardening this week too).

Burncoose Nursery is rather famous as it appears annually at the Chelsea Flower Show and runs a mail order service, it also has a 30 acre woodland garden which comes into its own in spring.

” Much of the charm of Burncoose Gardens is the carpets of bluebells, daffodils, primroses, snowdrops and wild violets which grow in abundance in the late winter and spring”

Having driven past many times over the past year, this week I decided it was time for a visit. With a list of desired plants of course. 

The Lodge drive is lined either side with rhododendrons and azaleas and small clumps of bluebells, the recent wind and rain had caused damage to the fragile flowers, but there was still plenty of colour around.

Veering off the drive into the woodland itself I was accompanied by a friendly Border collie dog who seemed to want me to follow her amongst the rhododendrons.

And eventually to the largest patch of bluebells, magnificent under a stand of beech trees freshly dressed in light green which contrasted with the deep blue carpet.

At the pond the dog and I parted company as she met another couple and proved to be disloyal by deciding to abandon me and accompany them on their stroll. I returned to the nursery as I still had a job to do. I still wonder if they thought I had left my dog behind!

Of course Cornwall is pretty famous for its spring gardens and there are a lot to choose from. You haven’t seen the last from me. And I might reblog some of the great Cornish gardens that I wrote about on Earth Laughs in Flowers

If you like a walk, long or short, then please visit Jo for her regular strolls in the UK and the Algarve and maybe you could join in too.

46 thoughts on “A Woodland Walk

  1. Il settimo cielo, Jude! Seventh heaven! (I once nearly stayed at a hotel of that name, overlooking Sorrento, but only nearly 🙂 ). Nothing puts a smile on my face more than rhodies. I have half a dozen in our own small garden but it’s impossible to capture the grandeur. Got the deepest red one, though 🙂 🙂 I wonder if I’m too late for the ones at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park? The quarry at Belsay might be better as it’s further north, but Mick is so busy at the minute. 😦 And you got that wonderful shaft of sunlight that was missing for my Durham bluebells the other day. Ah, me! You’ll be delighted to know that the sun is crisply shining here this morning and I might just chance breakfast in the garden before I go to t’ai chi (and then watch Rafa in Madrid 🙂 ). Sorry for the verbose reply and thank you very much for the link up. Shall I send you a hug? 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice to chat Jo. I thought you’d like the rhodies. I suppose they would grow in my garden too, but it is so small and I really want a more antipodean look. Sun shining here too, so off to do the chores then tackle the planting, so I shall save those hugs for later when I shall need them 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am jealous of those lovely colours and nice weather. Although the sun has finally arrived, it is still cold, and not much colour to be found around at the moment. The season has been a long time coming, and it feels like we will skip Spring, and go straight to Summer here.
    Best wishes, Pete. x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my, what beautiful colour. We are just now seeing the trees budding & early spring plants starting to bloom. So nice to see some colour after the long winter months!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We are lucky I guess in that we start with the spring flowers in February so winter is not so long. Everything seems much earlier this year though.

      Like

  4. Now these are wonderful pictures!
    When I was in Cornwall [AGES ago], I really loved the Cornish gardens.
    Here with us, we can’t have those beautiful flowers in our garden, though: the deer would eat them. But we do love the deer. especially when, like yesterday, they have young ones in our front yard.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is very pretty and I was the only one in there until on my way out again. I have been to a couple of other NT gardens but didn’t have time to write about them what with the laptop problem and then being away. I’ll get to it once I have planted all these plants I bought!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Now there’s a bench for you. Undistinguished in itself but oh the setting! That circle with bluebells and half a gate is particularly enticing. But why is there a red lifebelt in the third last image? And WHAT DID YOU BUY?????

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The red lifebelt is there because there is a pond – sadly covered in green algae which is why you can’t tell. I bought some grasses, geraniums, epimedium, tiarella (for under the willow tree) and some climbers to try and make the boundary between me and the neighbours a bit more private. Oh and a NZ daisy bush. Cost an arm and a leg!

      Like

    1. The colours were a delight and it was a gorgeous sunny day too so I was happy to be outside. The dog was so lovely I could have taken her home with me, but yes, I think she belongs to the nursery. She seemed quite at home anyway.

      Like

  6. Stunning Jude – what a gorgeous woodland walk and I love the pretty colours. What a beautiful dog too – she has a collar on so must have a home somewhere obviously appreciates the woodland sights and scents! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let's chat

