Porthleven Harbour

A bright and sunny day with fabulous cumulus clouds took us to Porthleven because a) we became stuck in a traffic jam heading to Lizard Point and b) the car park at Poldhu Cove was totally full. Although the village was busy there was still plenty of room outside along the harbour for lunch at The Harbour Inn. A short walk after lunch along the sheltered harbour to the pier (last seen in February with waves breaking over it) and a quick frolic in the rock pools before heading home.

33 thoughts on “Porthleven Harbour

    1. We had a nice lunch outside – why is it that eating outside is so much nicer? Then a little walk before having to head home for the district nurse visit! Getting back to normal now thank goodness.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Apart from a spastic back! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I seem to be disintegrating before my very eyes… I’m ok if I walk about a bit but if I sit down I struggle to get up again. And no- not just laziness πŸ™‚ Thanks for asking!

        Liked by 2 people

      2. My joints are playing havoc this week too. I am very stiff when I get up – ankle and knee in particular. Also got a spectacular blister yesterday!

        Like

      3. I think of eating outside as a rare treat, requiring exactly the right sort of weather. Neither too hot nor too cold and definitely not windy. To get that combination of factors, when I’m hungry and there is somewhere nice to sit — that feels a bit special. Glad things are getting back to normal. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

  1. A much better option that struggling in traffic to get to the Lizard. The holiday season is a drawback for those of us who live in popular tourist destinations, but we will soon have them to ourselves again.
    Best wishes, Pete. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed. Even yesterday which was a glorious day, the traffic seemed much quieter than last week. Maybe most people with children aim for the beginning of the month hoping the weather will be better then.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A beautiful, vibrant image of Porthleven. I can imagine Cornwall is very busy all over with the tourists at the moment. In some parts of Europe summer is over, the days are getting shorter and autumn is knocking, school has started, but now the other tourists are coming along the UK holidaymakers. Cley and Blakeney all the little villages are very busy at the moment, completely booked out.
    Have a lovely day, Jude. Hugs to you from all of us! x πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a lovely little village. We were almost there again yesterday, did a 5 mile walk through Penrose Park and along the coastal path. It is a nice area with lots of good eating places including a Rick Stein which is actually quite good!

      Like

    1. Thanks Meg. The clouds really caught my eye that day and I love the way the clouds and the pier lead your eye towards that interesting (not a church) building.

      Like

    1. I noticed the clouds first as I was eating lunch, then decided to walk to the end of the pier to see what I could get. I do rather like this one. Thanks Gilly πŸ™‚

      Like

Let's chat

