A visit to Charlestown on my birthday last month revealed many changes since I was last there. Because the new series of Poldark has been filmed on many Cornish locations (including this one), visitors to the county have been encouraged to discover the sites for themselves. So the village was a lot busier, and although there was usually a tall ship or two in the harbour now you can wander around to have a closer look (and pay for the privilege) although I don’t think you have access to board any of them. And despite being early October it was also a lot warmer than the last time I was here!

This my 200th post on this blog and specially createdΒ for my blogger friend Restless Jo as I know she loves boats and how could I resist taking a photo of this one with her name on it.

Happy birthday Johannahope you are having a fab time on the Algarve! Β 

52 thoughts on “tall ships and birthdays

      1. I beg your very pardon! I’m home and dutifully answering my comments and messages. The neighbours caught me just before we went out, then James rang, full of cold! Carob, almond and sweet pumpkin might be a tad too sweet for you? Maybe Mick’s pavlova? Thanks, darlin. It really has been a lovely birthday. No fireworks though. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No fireworks here either, but then we haven’t bothered to go out to see any. Cold wind today. I do like a nice meringue with lots of whipped cream so I shall be happy to share Mick’s pavlova. Glad you had a lovely day and still 12 more days to enjoy in paradise πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      3. We were both swarmed with visitors then! I had my daughter and family in August, stepdaughter and partner early Sept, Aussie family mid- Sep to early Oct and other son and his family in early Oct too!! Plus daughter etc came back for another visit in September so as to spend some time with her brothers. Phew! It was exhausting! But so lovely to see them all. And really, I don’t normally celebrate birthdays other than lunch out with the OH.

        Like

    1. Thanks Anabel. We usually go away for birthdays, but this year my son from Australia was over so I chose to spend time with them even though the OH was in Madrid. Bad timing really, but it couldn’t be helped.

      Like

  1. We’ve been watching the old Captain Hornblower series (charity shop DVD set). I find myself quite captivated by the ships and the mysterious paraphernalia of sailing them. And now I can also join you in wishing Jo a very happy birthday. I knew it was coming up. What else can one say on such a day – hope it goes with a bang!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Happy belated birthday, Jude! I see now I had your birthday on my calendar for October 4, but it was when I was traveling so I missed it. It looks like you had a fabulous day among the tall ships, and how funny that you found one named Johanna. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

      1. It was. My youngest grandsons are wonderful. The little prem one is such a character now, so serious he is like an old man sometimes, and has such an imagination. He had us all in stitches on several occasions. The youngest is a red head and boy is he a handful! Wilful, strong, determined, but has a beautiful smile that when he flashes it makes you forgive him all the tantrums.

        Like

  3. Thanks, Jude, for showing this picture: I LOVE those old sailing ships. And now I know where I need to go the next time I’m in England. πŸ™‚ I’m already looking forward to being in Galveston here next year in April, when tall ships will be there. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I am lucky: I (usually) don’t get seasick. In fact, I’ve experienced that once only, on my very fist trip on a sailing-boat. I’ve never saild on a tall ship – unfortunately – but I do have quite a few nautical miles on sailing-boats up to 44 feet – most of them as a skipper.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m not quite sure if I’d be happy travelling the world in a boat. In fact, I don’t think I’d like it. But spending 2, 3, or even 4 weeks on a boat at at time – that I can imagine.
        Just now, after our RailTrailsRoadTrip [http://tinyurl.com/jfu9bep] last year, and our SolarEclipseRoadTrip [http://tinyurl.com/ydyw2bnl] this August, Mary and I keep thinking how nice it would be to have an RV and do much more travelling. Again – not living in an RV all the time, but with a home base to return to once in a while. I think if we didn’t have our 5 kitties, we would really consider buying an RV.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Now that’s something I would like to do, but I’m not sure the OH and I could spend too long in a small space together, and he’d hate to leave all his guitars behind!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Well, like I said: we would want to keep a home base to return to once in a while. So you might just need to return to a home base more frequently, for your husband to exchange some of his guitars. πŸ˜‰ Or get one of these HUGE RVs you see on the roads here in the US, and some of them even then pulling a trailer.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. How well I remember those country roads. First it was “A” plus four numbers, and that already meant fairly narrow, but when it came to “B” plus four figures – oh my! I didn’t even need the sign “unsuitable for buses and lorries” to know that people inside the car were supposed to get close together. πŸ˜‰ Or that nobody have their window open and the elbows out. πŸ˜‰ And then the locals still came the other way, driving like crazy, because they didn’t expect anyone else to be on those roads.

        Liked by 1 person

Let's chat

